List of Governors

Bishops Tachbrook CE Primary School - Meet the Board of Governors


 Dan White – Chair of Governors


I am a co-opted governor which means I have some skills that are useful to the governing board - marketing and data analysis in particular.  I know the school well since both my children used to be pupils (they are now in their twenties) and my wife works at BT as a class teacher. As chair, my focus is ensuring the school has an effective strategy and is measuring progress towards it appropriately. I am extremely proud of our school, its creativity and the supportive atmosphere it fosters. I look forward to seeing it thrive again as lockdown restrictions are eased.

 Jenny Bevan – Vice-Chair of Governors (Parent Governor)

When both my daughters were pupils at Bishop's Tachbrook it felt like the right time to become a parent governor.  I am so passionate about helping all children be the best that they can be and that starts with a good education.  I am a researcher with many years' experience working with children, young people and families.  I believe in helping their voices to be heard by those who make decisions about how the education is delivered.  I love looking at spreadsheets and figures and enjoy supporting the school's leadership team to reflect on children's performance; not only the academic targets, but the social, emotional and wellbeing aspirations we have for all the children at the school.  My daughters and I are so fortunate to have such a good school in our community and I'm proud to be a part of it.

Chris Harper – Co-opted Governor


My wife and I came to live in the village over 20 years ago. After moving on from a job that often took me away from home, I was keen to have a more active role in the community. At the same time, my two daughters were pupils at the school and a Parent Governor role came up. So, having come first in a field of one to get the post, 2012 marked the start of my period as a governor. Since then I've learned so much from staff, fellow governors, training courses, our clerk Jenny and of course the pupils. In my time, I’ve been Chair of the Resources Committee, SEND Governor, H&S Governor, Vice Chair and Chair. Both Mr Brettell and Mrs Kilbey have been great at enabling governors to be effective in our role as critical friends by encouraging questions and being up front about any issues. This environment of open and honest dialogue along with the hard work and dedication I see in school has kept me passionate about playing my small part as a governor at the school even after my daughters moved on a few years ago.


 Sharron Logan – Foundation Governor

I became a parent governor in 2018 when my son was in year 3 and have now moved to become a foundation governor to support the Christian ethos of the school. I wanted to be a governor as I was keen to support the school that my son absolutely loves. I have been nicknamed the review queen as I have a knack for picking out details in policies and documents (sounds boring I know!) and am always the one with ‘just one more question’ at meetings!  As governors our role is not to get involved in the operational running of things but to support and challenge the school’s leadership team to drive school improvements.  I have also assisted the school in recruitment interviews including the current headteacher Mrs Kilbey.  I enjoy my role immensely and am really proud of our school and all of the people involved in making it a great place for our children to learn and develop.


 Sally Hewitt – Co-opted Governor

I became a governor initially in 2014 when I left my teaching role at Bishop’s Tachbook – it was a great way to stay involved in such a fantastic school! After a break, I resumed my Governor role in 2020.

As a teacher and a parent, I want every child to have a great experience in school! Being a governor is a fantastic way to support the school team in celebrating achievements and driving improvement so that every pupil in school has a great primary education.

Each governor brings a different skill set and experience to their role. I began my teaching career at Bishop’s Tachbrook in 2003 - I loved it so much that I stayed for 11 years! I have since been involved in Initial Teacher Education and also work closely with schools to support teachers early in their careers. This background in education gives me a good understanding of schools and effective teaching and learning which is useful in my role as link governor for maths and English.

I thoroughly enjoy being part of the governing body and feel privileged that I am able to continue being part of such a special school community

Verity Howe – Parent Governor

Coming soon

 Nicola Burke – Associate Member

I became a parent governor in 2017 when my daughter was in year 2. I wanted to be a governor to support and challenge the senior leaders to further the development of the school. Exploring data and discussing strategic plans for school improvement are aspects of being a governor that I have come to enjoy more and more. I really enjoy being on the board and I am keen to continue in my role to support the school to continue to be a great place for our children within our community as an associate member.

Cathryn Kilbey – Headteacher

Please see the who’s who of staff members.

Claire Pepin – Deputy Head Teacher – Associate Member

Please see the who’s who of staff members.

Helen Power – Staff Governor

Please see the who’s who of staff members.

Jenny Steckles – Clerk to the Governors

(You can read how our Governors ensure the school meets its plan to be the best it can be in the reports at the bottom of this page.)

To contact the Chair of Governors please phone the school (01926 426020). 

Dan White (Chair of Governors) [Chair of P&S cttee]

Jenny Bevan (Vice Chair) 

Cathryn Kilbey (Head Teacher)

Claire Pepin (Deputy Head Teacher)  

Helen Power (Staff Governor)

Chris Harper (Co-opted Governor) [Chair of Resources]

Nicola Burke (Associate Member) [Attendance & Safeguarding Governor]

Sharron Logan (Foundation Governor) [H&S Governor] 

Sally Hewitt (Co-opted Governor) [Safeguarding Governor]

Jenny Bevan (Parent Governor)

Verity Howe (Parent Governor)

Jenny Steckles (Clerk to the Governing Body)

Governors who have left in the last 12 months:

Paul Gardner

Sean Rellis

Reverend Elaine Scrivens

Andy Brettell

See further information about the Governors' recent reports below.

Details about individual Governors and any pecuniary interests is published below (Summary of Governors / Governors Information & Duties document) to comply with recent legislation. The Governing Body was duly re-constituted in line with amendments to DFE legislation (May 2014).

Summary of Governors & reports from governor visits on school improvement.